Michigan State University main website

Four MSU Scientists Named AAAS Fellows

Burton, Kirkpatrick, Neubig and Robertson - AAAS fall 2015

This year, four Michigan State University scientists were named AAAS Fellows by the American Association for the Advancement of Science.

This national recognition is awarded to researchers for their efforts to advance science or its applications.

“Our researchers, utilizing their great creativity and expertise, are solving some of the world’s most challenging problems,” said MSU Vice President for Research and Graduate Studies Stephen Hsu. “These individuals are leaders in their disciplines and represent the outstanding quality of work done at MSU.”

MSU’s AAAS Fellows are:

  • Zachary Burton, biochemistry and molecular biology professor. For seminal contributions toward understanding the function and evolution of RNA polymerases, enzymes found in all organisms and viruses, and for distinguished contributions to teaching, mentoring and the scientific community.
  • James Kirkpatrick, dean of the College of Natural Science. For pioneering work in establishing the field of geochemical kinetics and applying nuclear magnetic resonance spectroscopy to understand atomic environments in minerals, melts and cements.
  • Richard Neubig, chairperson of pharmacology toxicology. For pioneering work on the quantitative analysis of receptor mechanisms, particularly concerning regulators of G protein signaling, molecular switches within cells, and for insightful leadership in the pharmacological sciences.
  • Philip Robertson, director of MSU’s Kellogg Biological Station Long-term Ecological Research Program. For distinguished contributions in ecosystem science and production agriculture with emphasis on nitrogen cycling, greenhouse gas production and environmental assessment of biofuel cropping systems.

AAAS named 347 new fellows and will honor them on Feb. 13, during the 2016 AAAS Annual Meeting in Washington, D.C.

– Layne Cameron via MSU Today

Comments are closed.