Michigan State University main website

Haka Awarded ‘Lifetime Contribution’ for Accounting Research, Teaching

Susan Haka

Susan F. Haka, senior associate dean and Ernst & Young professor of accounting, Eli Broad College of Business, Michigan State University, has been given the 2016 AAA Lifetime Contribution Award by the American Institute of CPAs (AICPA), the Chartered Institute of Management Accountants (CIMA) and the Management Accounting Section of the American Accounting Association (AAA).

The award honors individuals who have made an important mark on management accounting education, research and practice. Haka was recognized for her research on the role of accounting systems in business processes and teaching of management accounting issues.

Theresa Libby, CA, professor of accounting in the School of Accounting and Finance, University of Waterloo, Ontario, Canada presented the award at the 2016 AAA Management Accounting Section’s mid-year meeting in Dallas.

“Professor Haka’s research in areas, including the effect of accounting methods and information on negotiations, trust, team outcomes, capital budgeting choices and in international settings have contributed to the growth of knowledge in management accounting,” said Libby. “Recognizing the breadth and depth of Professor Haka’s work, this award is very consistent with the AICPA/CIMA’s CGMA joint venture mission to promote the science of management accounting on the global stage.”

Haka formerly served as president of the AAA. She has co-authored Financial Accounting and Financial and Managerial Accounting: The Basis for Business Decisions and was the editor for Behavioral Research in Accounting. She has also published several academic articles.

Haka is the recipient of the Michigan State University Distinguished Faculty Award, the MSU Teacher-Scholar Award, and the American Accounting Association Outstanding Educator Award. She received her doctorate from the University of Kansas, Lawrence, Kan., and a master’s degree in accounting from the University of Illinois, Urbana, Ill.

Comments are closed.