Michigan State University main website

Journalism Students, Faculty Earn Prestigious Broadcast Awards

Focal Point, Journalism Awards

Michigan State University School of Journalism and students and faculty earned national recognition in the prestigious Broadcast Education Association Festival of Media Arts Awards competition.

Focal Point, which is the MSU School of Journalism’s broadcast news program, won third place in the Television Newscast (3 days per week or less) Category for the Larry Nassar Special that aired on Feb. 9, 2018. Kendall Ashman, Tony Black and Griffin Stroin led the Focal Point team in this award.

Michael Epps earned an Award of Excellence in the Television Sports Story / Feature Category for a story called “There’s a Height Difference.”

Two MSU entrants were honored with Best of Festival awards, which are the most prestigious BEA honors. BEA only awards 18 Best of festival awards, nine each for students and faculty.

Mike Castellucci, a School of Journalism Video News Artist-in-residence, won the Faculty Sports Competition award for a Short Form Sports Video Category entry titled “A Meeting At Home.”

Journalism Graduate Student Tara Mesyn won in the Student Interactive Multimedia and Emerging Technologies Competition. Her winning entry was a website project called “American Hurt: Vietnam Veterans Portraits & Perspectives.”

In addition to the Best of Festival Award, Castellucci won a Best of Competition award in the Television Feature News Reporting Category for a story called “Answer the Call.”

The BEA is an international academic media organization that drives insights, excellence in media production and career advancement. Best of Festival winners will be honored at an awards ceremony in Las Vegas on April 8, 2019.

  • College of Communication Arts and Sciences News

Comments are closed.