Michigan State University main website

Deb Earns Evolutionary Computation Award

View of the south face of the Engineering Building.

Michigan State University Professor Kalyanmoy Deb earned the 2018 IEEE CIS Evolutionary Computation Pioneer Award at the IEEE World Congress on Computational Intelligence for his pioneering contribution, development, and leadership in evolutionary multi-criterion optimization.


Kalyanmoy Deb

Deb is the Koenig Endowed Chair in electrical and computer engineering.

BEACON Director Erik Goodman said the honor recognizes career achievements over a lifetime.

“Among Professor Deb’s pioneering contributions to the field of evolutionary multi-objective optimization was the algorithm NSGA-II, which has been more widely used than any other evolutionary multi-objective optimization tool,” Goodman said. “He has led the community in the development of this new field that has spurred both widespread academic research and worldwide industrial application.”

Multi-criterion optimization has been applied to many fields of science, engineering, economics, and logistics. It helps decision-makers optimize conflicting objectives, like minimizing costs while maximizing comfort or maximizing performance while minimizing resource consumption and emissions. In practical uses, it can help communities balance productivity, profitability, and environmental damage factors and serve as a guide for real-world decision making.

Also at WCCI 2018, a paper co-authored by Deb and two former students received the IEEE Congress on Evolutionary Computation 2018 Outstanding Conference Paper Award.

Deb is a fellow of IEEE, the Indian National Science Academy, the Indian National Academy of Engineering, the Indian Academy of Sciences and the International Computation.

In 2017, he received the inaugural Lifetime Achievement Award from Clarivate Analytics for his highly cited research contributions during ceremonies in New Delhi, India. He was also honored with the Clarivate Analytics Highly Cited Researcher Award in India. He was selected for papers ranking in the top one percent by citations, considering both year and field of publication.

Comments are closed.