Michigan State University main website

Eleven MSU Researchers Receive CAREER Awards for 2018

NSF Career Awardees Headshots

Eleven Michigan State University scientists are the recipients of National Science Foundation (NSF) Early CAREER Faculty Awards, seven of them women in the College of Natural Science.

The CAREER Award is one of NSF’s most prestigious awards in support of early career faculty members who exemplify the role of teacher-scholars through outstanding research, excellent education and the integration of education and research.

“NSF CAREER awards are a strong confirmation of the high caliber of our junior faculty and a very positive indicator of their future career trajectory,” said Stephen Hsu, vice president for research and graduate studies at MSU. “These awards are extremely competitive, so to receive six in one college is extraordinary.”

“NatSci is proud of the women faculty who received prestigious NSF CAREER awards this year,” said Cheryl Sisk, NatSci interim dean. “This national recognition of their talent is well-deserved and will enhance the research and educational experiences of many MSU students.”

The seven recipients from the College of Natural Science are:

Laura Chomiuk, assistant professor, Department of Physics and Astronomy, and director of the MSU Observatory; Susannah Dorfman, assistant professor of experimental mineralogy in the Department of Earth and Environmental Sciences; Kristen Hendricks, assistant professor, Department of Mathematics; N. Cecilia Martinez-Gomez, assistant professor, Department of Microbiology and Molecular Genetics; Kristin Parent, professor, Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology; Michaela TerAvest, assistant professor, Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology; and Ashley Shade, assistant professor, Department of Plant, Soil and Microbial Sciences.

Four other MSU faculty members received NSF Early CAREER Awards in 2018: Jeffrey Nanzerthe Dennis P. Nyquist assistant professor, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering; Wietske Van Osch, assistant professor, Department of Media and Information; Jiayu Zhou, assistant professor of Department of Computer Science and Engineering; and Yadu Pokhrel, assistant professor, Civil and Environmental Engineering.

Read their individual stories at “2018 NSF Early CAREER Awards”

  • Val Osowski via the College of Natural Science website
  • Banner Image: MSU’s College of Natural Science is home to seven 2018 National Science Foundation Early CAREER Award winners. Pictured left to right are: Susannah Dorfman (earth and environmental sciences), Kristen Hendricks (mathematics), Ashley Shade (plant, soil and microbial sciences), Michaela TerAvest (biochemistry and molecular biology), N. Cecilia Martinez-Gomez (microbiology and molecular genetics),  Kristin Parent (biochemistry and molecular biology), and Laura Chomiuk (physics and astronomy).

Comments are closed.