Michigan State University main website

Psychology Profs, Former PhD Student Earn National Honors

Jennifer Watling Neal, assistant professor of psychology, poses outside of the psychology building on Thursday July 1, 2010.

Two members of the faculty in the Department of Psychology and a Ph.D. alumna have received national recognition for their work.

    • Associate professor Jenna Watling Neal (photo above) has been honored with the 2016 Early Career Award presented by the Society for Community Research and Action – Community Psychology, Division 27 of the American Psychological Association. She was nominated by Rhona Weinstein, professor of the Graduate School at the University of California Berkeley.
Robin Miller

Robin Miller

  • Robin Miller has been honored with the division’s 2016 Ethnic Minority Mentoring Award for her “selfless dedication to educating the next generation of students of color.” Throughout her career, she has attracted students who focus on the needs and concerns of young people of color and sexual minorities and also students who are members of these groups. The SCRA award celebrates her ongoing efforts to create an inclusive scholarly, professional, and educational environment where students of color may thrive and her success in mentoring students of color into productive careers. Miller is the Department of Psychology’s chair of Ecological-Community Psychology and co-director of the online MA Degree in Program Evaluation.
  • Sarah Reed has won the 2016 Emory Cowen Dissertation Award. Reed completed her PhD in 2015 and is currently a post-doctoral fellow at the Center for AIDS Intervention Research at the Medical College of Wisconsin. Her dissertation, “Thriving and Adapting: Resilience, sense of community and syndemics among young Black gay and bisexual men,” was chaired by Miller.

– Rick Seguin via MSU Today

Comments are closed.