Michigan State University main website

Two MSU Scientists Honored

Thomas Pinnavia and James Smith

Two Michigan State University scientists have been named AAAS Fellows by the American Association for the Advancement of Science.

This national recognition is awarded to researchers for their efforts to advance science or its applications.

“These individuals are leaders in their disciplines and representative of the outstanding quality of work being done at MSU,” said Stephen Hsu, vice president for Research and Graduate Studies. “Their research has an important impact on the frontiers of human knowledge.”

MSU’s AAAS Fellows are:

  • Thomas Pinnavaia, chemist: For distinguished contributions to the field of inorganic materials chemistry, particularly for innovative synthesis of mesophases via supramolecular assembly and the intercalation of lamellar solids.
  • James Smith, entomologist and professor in Lyman Briggs College: For distinguished contributions to the field of entomology evolution and the development of novel evolution pedagogies, along with sustained high excellence as an undergraduate teacher and mentor.

For a complete list of MSU AAAS Fellows, visit https://research.msu.edu/american-association-for-the-advancement-of-science/.

AAAS named 391 new fellows and will honor them on Feb. 18, during the 2016 AAAS annual meeting in Boston.

– Layne Cameron via MSU Today

Comments are closed.